Online Store | Donations | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join AIPG
State Surveys
Share |

State Geological Surveys / State Geologists

 

ALABAMA
Berry H. (Nick) Tew, Jr., Director and State Geologist
Geological Survey of Alabama
P.O. Box 869999
420 Hackberry Lane
Tuscaloosa, AL 35486-6999
E-mail: ntew@gsa.state.al.us
Phone: (205) 247-3679
URL: http://www.gsa.state.al.us/

 

ALASKA
Steve S. Masterman, Director and State Geologist
Division of Geological & Geophysical Surveys
Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources
3354 College Road
Fairbanks, AK 99709
E-mail: steve.masterman@alaska.gov
Phone (907)451-5007 Fax (907)451-5223
URL: http://www.dggs.alaska.gov/ 

 

ARIZONA

Phillip A. Pearthree
Director and State Geologist
Arizona Geological Survey
1955 E 6th St
PO Box 210184
Tucson, AZ 85721
520-621-2470
Fax 520-621-2508
pearthre@email.arizona.edu 
URL: http://www.azgs.az.gov/ 

 

ARKANSAS
Bekki White, Director and State Geologist
Arkansas Geological Survey
Vardelle Parham Geology Center
3815 West Roosevelt Road
Little Rock, AR 72204
E-mail: bekki.white@arkansas.gov 
Phone: (501) 296-1877 Fax: (501) 663-7360
URL: http://www.geology.ar.gov

 

CALIFORNIA 
John Parrish, State Geologist
California Geological Survey
801 K Street, MS 12-30
Sacramento, CA 95814-3531
E-mail: john.parish@conservation.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 445-1825 Fax: (916) 445-5718
URL: http://www.conservation.ca.gov/cgs/ 

 

COLORADO
Karen Berry, State Geologist/Director
Colorado Geological Survey
Colorado School of Mines
1800 19th Street
Golden, CO 80401
E-mail: karen.berry@state.co.us
Phone: 303-866-2611
URL: http://coloradogeologicalsurvey.org/

 

CONNECTICUT
Margaret A. Thomas, CPG, State Geologist
Connecticut Geological Survey
Office of Information Management
Dept. of Energy & Environmental Protection
79 Elm Street, Hartford, CT 06106
margaret.thomas@ct.gov
Phone: (860) 424-3583 Fax: (860) 424-4058
URL: http://www.ct.gov/deep 

 

DELAWARE
David Wunsch, Director and State Geologist
Delaware Geological Survey
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716-7501
E-mail: dwunsch@udel.edu
Phone: (302) 831-8258 Fax: (302) 831-3579
URL: http://www.dgs.udel.edu/ 

 

FLORIDA
Jon Arthur, Chief and State Geologist
Florida Geological Survey
3000 Commonwealth Blvd., Ste. 1
Tallahassee, FL 32303
E-mail: jonathan.arthur@dep.state.fl.us
Phone: (850) 617-0320 Fax: (850) 488-8086
URL: http://www.dep.state.fl.us/geology/ 

 

GEORGIA
Jim Kennedy
Georgia Geologic Survey Branch
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SE
EPD, Floyd Towers East, Suite 1152
Atlanta, GA 30334
E-mail: Jim_Kennedy@dnr.state.ga.us
Phone: (404) 657-5947 Fax: (404) 657-8535
URL: http://www.dnr.state.ga.us   

 

HAWAII
Vacant
Dept. of Land and Natural Resources
Commission on Water Resource Management
P.O. Box 621, 1151 Punchbowl St.
Kalanimoku Bldg., Room 227
Honolulu, HI 96809
E-mail:  dlnr.cwrm@hawaii.gov
Phone: (808) 587-0214 Fax: (808) 587-0219
URL: http://www.state.hi.us/dlnr/cwrm 

 

IDAHO
Michael "Ed" Ratchford, Director and State Geologist
Idaho Geological Survey
University of Idaho Morrill Hall, Room 332
Moscow, ID 83844-3014
E-mail: edratchford@uidaho.edu
Phone: (208) 885-7993 Fax: (208) 885-5826
URL: http://www.idahogeology.org/

 

ILLINOIS
Dr. Richard C. Berg, Director and State Geologist
Illinois State Geological Survey
Natural Resources Building
615 East Peabody Drive
Champaign, IL 61820-6964
E-mail: berg@isgs.uiuc.edu 
Phone: (217) 244-2776 Fax: (217) 244-7004
URL: http://www.isgs.uiuc.edu/ 

 

INDIANA
Todd Thompson, Director and State Geologist
Indiana Geological Survey
Indiana University
611 North Walnut Grove
Bloomington, IN 47405-2208
E-mail: tthomps@indiana.edu
Phone: (812) 855-4400 Fax: (812) 855-2862
URL: http://igs.indiana.edu/ 

 

IOWA
Keith Schilling, State Geologist
Iowa Geological Survey
340A Trowbridge Hall
Iowa City, IA 52242-1584
E-mail: keith-schilling@uiowa.edu
Phone: (319) 335-1422
URL: https://www.iihr.uiowa.edu

 

KANSAS
Rolfe Mandel, Interim Director
Kansas Geological Survey
1930 Constant Avenue, Campus West
The University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66047-3724
E-mail: mandel@kgs.ku.edu
Phone: (785) 864-3965
URL: http://www.kgs.ku.edu

 

KENTUCKY
Dr. William C. Haneberg, State Geologist and Director
Kentucky Geological Survey
504 Rose Street
228 Mining and Mineral Resources Building
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0107
E-mail: bill.haneberg@uky.edu
Phone: (859) 257-5500 Fax: (859) 257-1147
URL: http://www.uky.edu/KGS

 

LOUISIANA
Chacko J. John, Director and State Geologist
Louisiana Geological Survey
Louisiana State University
3079 Energy, Coast and Environment Building
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
E-mail: cjohn@lsu.edu
Phone: (225) 578-8681 Fax: (225) 578-3662
URL: http://www.lgs.lsu.edu/

 

MAINE
Robert G. Marvinney, Director and State Geologist
Maine Geological Survey
93 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0022
E-mail: robert.g.marvinney@maine.gov
Phone: (207) 287-2801 Fax: (207) 287-2353
URL: http://www.maine.gov/doc/nrimc/mgs/ 

 

MARYLAND
Richard Ortt, Jr., Director and State Geologist
Maryland Geological Survey
2300 St. Paul Street
Baltimore, MD 21218-5210
E-mail: richard.ortt@maryland.gov
Phone: (410) 554-5503 Fax: (410) 554-5502
URL: http://www.mgs.md.gov/ 

 

MASSACHUSETTS
Stephen B. Mabee, State Geologist
Department of Geosciences
269 Morrill Science Center
University of Massachusetts
611 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01003-9297
E-mail: sbmabee@geo.umass.edu
Phone: (413) 545-4814 Fax: (413) 545-1200
URL: http://www.geo.umass.edu/stategeologist/ 

 

MICHIGAN
John Yellich, State Geologist
Michigan Geological Survey
Dept. of Geosciences - WMU
1903 W. Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
E-mail: john.a.yellich@wmich.edu
Phone: (269) 387-8649 Fax: (517) 241-1601
URL: http://www.michigan.gov/deq 

 

MINNESOTA
Harvey Thorleifson, Professor and Director
Minnesota Geological Survey
2609 W. Territorial Rd.
St. Paul, MN 55114
E-mail: thorleif@umn.edu
Phone: (612) 626-2150 Fax: (612) 627-4778
URL: http://www.mngs.umn.edu/ 

 

MISSISSIPPI
David Dockery, State Geologist
Mississippi Office of Geology
P.O. Box 2279
Jackson, MS 39225
E-mail: ddockery@mdeq.ms.gov
Phone: (601) 961-5501 Fax: (601) 961-5521
URL: http://www.deq.state.ms.us/MDEQ.nsf/page/Geology_home?OpenDocument

 

MISSOURI
Joe Gillman, State Geologist and Division Director
Division of Geology and Land Survey
111 Fairgrounds Road
P.O. Box 250
Rolla, MO 65402-0250
E-mail: joe.gillman@dnr.mo.gov
Phone: (573) 368-2101 Fax: (573) 368-2111
URL: http://www.dnr.mo.gov/geology/index.html 

 

MONTANA
John J. Metesh, Director and State Geologist
Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology
Montana Tech of the Univ. of Montana
1300 West Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
E-mail: jmetesh@mtech.edu
Phone: (406) 496-4159 Fax: (406) 496-4451
URL: http://www.mbmg.mtech.edu/mbmg-default.asp 

 

NEBRASKA
R.M. (Matt) Joeckel, State Geologist and Associate Director
Nebraska Conservation and Survey Division
School of Natural Resources
615 Hardin Hall
3310 Holdrege Street
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68583-0996
E-mail: rjoeckel3@unl.edu
Phone: (402) 472-7520 Fax: (402) 472-2946
URL: http://csd.unl.edu/ 

 

NEVADA
James E. Faulds, Director and State Geologist
Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology
University of Nevada
Mail Stop 178
Reno, NV 89557-0178
E-mail: jfaulds@unr.edu
Phone: (775) 784-6691, ext. 126 Fax: (775) 784-1709
URL: http://www.nbmg.unr.edu/ 

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Rick Chormann, State Geologist and Director
New Hampshire Geological Survey
P.O. Box 95, 29 Hazen Dr.
Concord, NH 03302-0095
E-mail: frederick.chormann@des.nh.gov
Phone: (603) 271-1975 Fax: (603) 271-8013
URL: http://des.nh.gov/organization/commissioner/gsu/ 

 

NEW JERSEY
Jeffrey Hoffman, State Geologist
New Jersey Geological and Water Survey
Department of Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 427
Trenton, NJ 08625
E-mail: jeffrey.l.hoffman@dep.nj.gov
Phone: (609) 292-1185 Fax: (609) 633-1004
URL: http://www.state.nj.us/dep/njgs/

 

NEW MEXICO
Dr. Nelia W. Dunbar, Director and State Geologist
New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources
New Mexico Tech
801 Leroy Place
Socorro, NM 87801-4796
E-mail: nelia@nmbg.nmt.edu
Phone: (575) 835-5783 Fax: (575) 835-6333
URL: http://geoinfo.nmt.edu/index.html

 

NEW YORK
Dr. Andrew Kozlowski, Acting Associate State Geologist
New York State Geological Survey
New York State Museum
Office of the State Geologist
3000 Cultural Education Center
Albany, NY 12230
E-mail: akozlows@mail.nysed.gov
Phone: (518) 486-2012 Fax: (518) 486-2034
URL: http://www.nysm.nysed.gov/nysgs/index.html

 

NORTH CAROLINA
Dr. Kenneth B. Taylor, Director and State Geologist
North Carolina Geological Survey
Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources
Division of Land Resources
1612 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1612
E-mail: Kenneth.B.Taylor@ncdenr.gov
Phone: (919) 707-9211 Fax: (919) 715-8801
URL: http://www.geology.enr.state.nc.us/ 

 

NORTH DAKOTA
Edward C. Murphy, State Geologist
North Dakota Geological Survey
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0840
E-mail: emurphy@nd.gov
Phone: (701) 328-8000 Fax: (701) 328-8010
URL: https://www.dmr.nd.gov/ndgs/ 

 

OHIO
Dr. Thomas J. Serenko, State Geologist and Division Chief
Ohio Division of Geological Survey
Dept. of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Rd., Bldg. C-1
Columbus, OH 43229-6693
E-mail: thomas.serenko@dnr.state.oh.us
Phone: (614) 265-6598 Fax: (614) 447-1918
URL: http://www.ohiodnr.com/geosurvey/   

 

OKLAHOMA
Dr. Jeremy Boak
Oklahoma Geological Survery
Sarkeys Energy Center
100 East Boyd St., Suite N-131
Norman, OK 73019
E-mail: jboak@ou.edu
Phone:(405) 325-7968 Fax: (405) 325-7069
http://www.ou.edu/content/ogs.html

 

OREGON
Brad Avy, State Geologist
Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 965
Portland, OR 97232-2162
E-mail: brad.avy@state.or.us
Phone: (971) 673-1550
URL: http://www.oregongeology.org 

 

PENNSYLVANIA
Dr. Gale Blackmer, Bureau Director and State Geologist
Pennsylvania Bureau of Topographic and Geologic Survey
Dept. of Conservation and Natural Resources
3240 Schoolhouse Road
Middletown, PA 17057-3534
E-mail: gblackmer@pa.gov
Phone: (717) 702-2032 Fax: (717) 702-2065
URL: http://www.dcnr.state.pa.us/topogeo/index.aspx

 

PUERTO RICO
Vacant, State Geologist
Administrador Auziliar
Departamento de Recursos
Naturales y Ambientales
P. O. Box 366147
San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936
Phone: (787) 722-2526 Fax: (787) 999-2303
URL: http://www.drna.gobierno.pr/

 

RHODE ISLAND
Vacant
Rhode Island Geological Survey
Dept. of Geosciences
9 East Alumni Ave., 314 Woodward Hall
The University of Rhode Island
Kingston, RI 02881
E-mail:
Phone: (401) 874-2191 Fax: (401) 874-2190
URL: http://cels.uri.edu/geo/GEO_risurvey.aspx   

 

SOUTH CAROLINA
Charles (Bill) W. Clendenin, Jr., State Geologist
South Carolina Geological Survey
5 Geology Road
Columbia, SC 29212
E-mail: clendeninb@dnr.sc.gov
Phone: (803) 896-7714 Fax: (803) 896-7695
URL: http://www.dnr.sc.gov/geology/ 

 

SOUTH DAKOTA
Tim Cowman, State Geologist & Program Administrator
South Dakota Geological Survey
Dept. of Environment and Natural Resources
Univ. of South Dakota, Akeley-Lawrence Science Center
414 E. Clark St.
Vermillion, SD 57069-2390
E-mail: Tim.Cowman@usd.edu
Phone: (605) 677-5227 Fax: (605) 677-5895
URL: http://www.sdgs.usd.edu/ 

 

TENNESSEE
Ronald P. Zurawski, State Geologist and Director
Tennessee Geological Survey
Department of Environment & Conservation
William R. Snodgrass, Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Ave., 12th Fl.
Nashville, TN 37243-0445
E-mail: Ronald.Zurawski@tn.gov
Phone: (615) 532-1502 Fax: (615) 532-1517
URL: http://www.tn.gov/environment/geology/ 

 

TEXAS
Scott Tinker, State Geologist and Director
Texas Bureau of Economic Geology
University of Texas at Austin
University Station, Box X
Austin, TX 78713-8924
E-mail: scott.tinker@beg.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-1534 Fax: (512) 471-0140
URL: http://www.beg.utexas.edu/ 

 

UTAH
Rick Allis, Director and State Geologist
Utah Geological Survey
1594 W. North Temple, Suite 3110
P.O. Box 146100
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6100
E-mail: rickallis@utah.gov
Phone: (801) 537-3300 Fax: (801) 537-3400
URL: http://geology.utah.gov/ 

 

VERMONT
Marjorie Gale, State Geologist and Director
Vermont Geological Survey
Dept. of Environmental Conservation
1 National Life Dr., Main 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3902
E-mail: marjorie.gale@vermont.gov
Phone: (802) 522-5210
URL: http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/geo/vgs.htm 

 

VIRGINIA
David Spears, State Geologist
Division of Mineral Mining
Dept. of Geology and Mineral Resources
900 Natural Resources Drive, Ste 400
Charlottesville, VA 22903
E-mail: David.Spears@dmme.virginia.gov
Phone: (434) 951-6350 Fax: (434) 951-6366
URL: http://www.dmme.virginia.gov/ 

 

WASHINGTON
Dave Norman, Division Manager & State Geologist
Division of Geology and Earth Sciences
Department of Natural Resources
1111 Washington St., SE
P.O. Box 47007
Olympia, WA 98504-7007
E-mail: dave.norman@dnr.wa.gov
Phone: (360) 902-1439 Fax: (360) 902-1785
URL: http://www.dnr.wa.gov/ResearchScience/GeologyEarthSciences/

 

WEST VIRGINIA
B. Mitchel Blake, Jr., , Director and State Geologist
West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey
1 Mont Chateau Road
Morgantown, WV 26508-8079
E-mail: blake@geosrv.wvnet.edu
Phone: (304) 594-2331 Fax: (304) 594-2575
URL: http://www.wvgs.wvnet.edu/ 

 

WISCONSIN
Ken Bradbury, Director and State Geologist
Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey
3817 Mineral Point Road
Madison, WI 53705-5100
E-mail: ken.bradbury@wisc.edu
Phone: (608) 263-7921
URL: http://wisconsingeologicalsurvey.org/ 

 

WYOMING
Erin Campbell, Director and State Geologist
Wyoming State Geological Survey
P.O. Box 1347
Laramie, WY 82073
E-mail: erin.campbell@wyo.gov
Phone: (307) 766-2286 Fax: (307) 766-2605
URL: http://www.wsgs.uwyo.edu/