Online Store | Donations | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join AIPG
Section History
Share |

AIPG Section History

The American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG), founded in 1963, is the largest association dedicated to promoting geology as a profession. It presently has more than 6,000 members in the U.S. and abroad, organized into 34 regional Sections. The AIPG Sections are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Capitol, Carolinas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois/Indiana, Iowa/Nebraska, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Northeast, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginias, Washington, and Wisconson.

In 2013 the AIPG Sections were asked to provide a history of their section. The following sections submitted this information: ArizonaCaliforniaColoradoGeorgiaHawaiiKentuckyMichiganNevadaOregonSouth DakotaTennesseeTexas, and Wisconson (all in one pdf file). Sections are welcome to send their history in to be added.