Online Store | Donations | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join AIPG
News & Press: AIPG National

2019 National Award Recipients

Monday, August 26, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

2019 AIPG National Award Recipients

The AIPG National Awards will be presented at the AIPG Annual National Conference in Burlington, Vermont. The Awards Ceremony will be a Dinner Cruise on Lake Champlain to be held on Monday, September 16, 2019, from 5 pm to 8:45 pm. This is a ticketed event so sign up for it when you register for the conference.

Ben H. Parker Memorial Distinguished Service Medal

The Ben H. Parker Memorial Medal is the Institute’s most distinguished award. It was established by the Executive Committee, in 1969, in posthumous honor of a truly great leader and one of the most articulate and effective advocates for the improvement of the profession of geology. The medal is awarded to individuals who have long records of distinguished and outstanding service to the profession. It is a tribute to Ben H. Parker, a person who gave much of his life to improve the quality of geology, geologists, and the services they provide.
  • 2019 Recipient - Frank R. Ettensohn, CPG-11978, Lexington, Kentucky

Martin Van Couvering Memorial Service to the Institute Award
The Martin Van Couvering Memorial Award was established by the Executive Committee, in 1979, in posthumous honor of the first President of the Institute. Martin Van Couvering made the presidency a full-time occupation for the first two years of the Institute’s history. His dynamic leadership, diplomacy, and organizational abilities established the solid foundation from which the Institute has grown. Few, if any, have given so much to the Institute.

  • 2019 Recipient - Samuel W. Gowan, CPG-07284, Clifton Park, New York

John T. Galey, Sr., Memorial Public Service Award
The Public Service Award was established by the Executive Committee, in 1982, in recognition of one of its primary purposes; service to the public. In 1992, it was renamed the John T. Galey, Sr., Memorial Public Service Award, in posthumous honor of our fourth President, whose long professional career was a continuum of service to both the geological and the general public. This recognition is important because so many members have distinguished themselves and the Institute by giving expert testimony to governmental units, by serving on governmental commissions and committees, and by providing geological expertise where it was needed by the public at large.

  • 2019 Recipient - David M. Abbott, CPG-04570, Denver, Colorado
AIPG Section Leadership Award
The AIPG Section Leadership Award was established by the Executive Committee in 2013 to recognize one or more of our members who have demonstrated a long-term commitment and have been long-term contributors to AIPG at the section level. AIPG has many sections where one or more individuals have demonstrated exceptional leadership for their section and in many instances kept the section together and moving forward.  These individuals are commonly not known at the National level or by AIPG members outside of their sections, however, their contributions have been vital to their sections and they perform this work because of their commitment to our profession and AIPG.
  • Jeffrey M. Groncki, CPG-11118, AIPG Illinois/Indiana Section
  • Robert D. Campbell, MEM-1564, AIPG California Section
  • Keith B. Rapp, CPG-10447, AIPG Minnesota Section
  • Jeffrey J. Frederick, CPG-10989, AIPG Northeast Section
AIPG 2019 Presidential Certificate of Merit Recipients
  • Mehmet Pehlivan - for his efforts to create the WA/OR section and reinvigorate the Pacific Northwest
  • Larry Cerrillo - for his generous work to keep AIPG Headquarters a healthy and happy workplace
  • Brandy Barnes - for her incredible efforts to encourage and mentor students and Young Professionals
  • Christine Lilek - for her amazing efforts to host a very successful workshop and to keep the WI section active and engaged
  • Sara Pearson - for her titanic efforts and hard work to modernize and keep the TPG on-time
  • John Berry - for his tireless commitment to and success in getting relevant articles and interesting content for the TPG
  • Ray Talkington - for his instrumental efforts to develop and deliver GOLI presentations on behalf of AIPG
AIPG Student Chapter of the Year - 2019


Central Michigan University

  • President - Chelsea L. Thibodeau SA-8495
  • Vice-President - Lindsey Stone, SA-8462
  • Treasurer - Jayson Olivera, SA-8478
  • Secretary - Chelsea J. DeBoutte, SA-8665


AIPG Student Chapter Certificate of Excellence


Northern Arizona University

  • President - Patrick Gannon
  • Vice President - Hannah Davis
  • Treasurer - Ronnie Chavez
  • Secretary - Jenna Chaffeur
  • Field Trip Coordinator - Alex Wood
  • Ft. Valley Specialist - Emma Lodes

SRTMU, Nanded, India - Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University

  • President - More Laxman Bhauso
  • Vice President – Divyesh Vyas
  • Secretary – Avinash Bachanwar
  • Treasurer – Shivprasad More