Home | About | Contact | Store

AIPG National Undergraduate Scholarship

To assist students with college education costs and to promote student participation in the American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG). Up to ten scholarships will be awarded to declared undergraduate geological sciences majors who are at least sophomores. Details for applying for these scholarships are provided below.

Scholarship Awards
Scholarship awards in the amount of $1,000.00 each will be made to eligible students attending a college or university in the U.S. Scholarships are intended to be used to support tuition and/or room and board.

Eligibility Requirements

Any student who is majoring in geology (or earth science), is at least a sophomore, and is attending a four-year accredited college or university in the U.S. can apply. Also, the student must be either a student member of AIPG or must have applied for student membership at the time the application for the scholarship is submitted.

Each student who is awarded a scholarship agrees, by accepting the scholarship, to prepare a 600 to 800 word article for publication in The Professional Geologist. The subject of the article must be related to a timely professional issue.

Application Process

  1. Submit a cover letter introducing yourself and tell us what you have done outside of the class room such as research projects, officer in club, or outside activities within the community. Address your career goals in near term and longer term.
  2. Submit an essay on “Why I Want to be a Geologist.” 
  3. Submit a copy of your transcript (unofficial) and documentation that you are a current student. Requisite standards to apply are a minimum GPA of 2.8 (on a 4 point scale) and a minimum of 12 semester credits of geology/geoscience courses with a 3.0 GPA in these courses completed at time of application.
  4. Submit a letter of recommendation from a geology/geoscience professor that provides an emphasis on your performance and activities in the classroom, in the department, and your character in how you work and help other students.

The application packet should be submitted to:

American Institute of Professional Geologists
Attn: Education Committee Chr.
12000 Washington St., Suite 285
Thornton, Colorado 80241-3134
Questions regarding the application process can be directed to
Vickie Hill by telephone
(303) 412-6205 or e-mail: aipg@aipg.org.

Application Deadline and Award Date
Applications must be received by February 15th
Awarded the month of May

Basis of Awards
Awards will be based on the cover letter, recommendation, transcript and the content and creativity of the essay as judged by the Education Committee. The decisions of the Education Committee are final.

Application requirements for student membership to AIPG: Student must be currently enrolled in a geological science degree program (as defined by the American Geosciences Institute).

AIPG student membership is available online or applications can be obtained from:

American Institute of Professional Geologists
12000 Washington St., Suite 285, Thornton, Colorado 80241-3134
(Application forms are also available on the AIPG website http://www.aipg.org)

Join Online! Student Membership is Free!

AIPG 2016 National Scholarship Winners!

The AIPG National awarded thirteen $1,000 scholarships to the following undergraduate students: Julie Driebergen, Southern Illinois University; Melissa Luna, Central Connecticut State University; Kristina Butler, University of Alaska Anchorage; Sean Czarnecki, Angelo State University, TX; Katelyn Brower, Everett Community College, WA; Emilie Bowman, University of Texas; Anna Stanczyk, University of Alaska Anchorage; Aaron Ashley, University of West Georgia; Nam Pham, University of Tulsa, OK; Wesley Weisberg, Missouri State University; Casey Saup, The Ohio State University (Sponsored by the Ohio Section); Brett Flessner, Michigan State University (Sponsored by the Michigan Section); Anna Schuh, University of Arizona (Sponsored by the Arizona Section).

The Foundation of the American Institute of Professional Geologists awarded the AIPG William J. Siok Graduate Scholarship of $1,000 to Philipp Tesch, Texas A&M University. Congratulations to all of the winners!

AIPG 2015 Student Scholarship Winners!

The AIPG National awarded twelve $1,000 scholarships to the following undergraduate students: Vanessa Fernandes, Hofstra University, New York; Nathaniel Foote, University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada; Chloe Ivanoff, University of Alaska Anchorage, Alaska (Sponsored by the AIPG Alaska Section); Hannah Johnson, Kent State University, Ohio; Stephanie Kitowski, University of North Dakota, North Dakota; Taylor Krabiel, University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada; Christopher H. Kremer, Stanford University, California; Eint Kyi, Oberlin College, Ohio; Anna Stanczyk, University of Alaska, Anchorage, Alaska; Jasmine Stefansky, Central Michigan University, Michigan (Sponsored by the AIPG Michigan Section); Kevin Townsley, University of Idaho, Idaho; Franklin Wolfe, and Washington and Lee, Virginia.

The Foundation of the American Institute of Professional Geologists awarded the AIPG William J. Siok Graduate Scholarship of $1,000 to Karen Vyverberg, University of Florida, Florida. Congratulations to all of the winners!

2014 AIPG Student Scholarship Winners!

The AIPG Executive Committee is pleased to announce the awardees for the 2014 Student Scholarships. AIPG has awarded eleven scholarships this year. The recipients are Dana Walters, Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina; Kara Mjolhus, West Texas A&M, Canyon, Texas; Zakia Kiminta, Georgia State University, Atlanta, Georgia; Firdaus Ridzuan, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa; Colin Sturrock, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas; Nicholas Spano, University of Minnesota- Duluth, Duluth, Minnesota; Ryan Phillip, West Georgia University; Carrollton, Georgia; Alexandra Price, Colorado Mesa University, Grand Junction, Colorado; Ashley Pales, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, Illinois; Jessica Badgeley, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colorado; and Carly Siko, Michigan Tech University, Houghton, Michigan. Click here to read the student essays.

The scholarships are made possible by the support of the Foundation of the American Institute of Professional Geologists and the AIPG members’ voluntary contributions. To make a donation click here.

The American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) was founded in 1963 to certify the credentials
of practicing geologists and to advocate on behalf of the profession.

AIPG represents the professional interests of all practicing geoscientists in every discipline.
It's advocacy and efforts are focused on the promotion of the role of geology and geologists in society.