Home | About | Contact | Store

AIPG Section History

The American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG), founded in 1963, is the largest association dedicated to promoting geology as a profession. It presently has more than 6,000 members in the U.S. and abroad, organized into 34 regional Sections. The AIPG Sections are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Capitol, Carolinas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois/Indiana, Iowa/Nebraska, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Northeast, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginias, Washington, and Wisconson.

In 2013 the AIPG Sections were asked to provide a history of their section. The following sections submitted this information: Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Kentucky, Michigan, Nevada, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconson (all in one pdf file). Sections are welcome to send their history in to be added.

The American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) was founded in 1963 to certify the credentials
of practicing geologists and to advocate on behalf of the profession.

AIPG represents the professional interests of all practicing geoscientists in every discipline.
It's advocacy & efforts are focused on the promotion of the role of geology and geologists in society.